Skip to main content

Holly Loranger | June 5, 2018

We are pleased to announce the finalists for World View’s 2018 OVERBook Project on the Environment and Sustainability. The 12 Fellows represent a variety of disciplines across K-5, 6-8, 9-12 and community college. More information about the Fellows will be posted on the World View Fellows program site this summer.

  • Patricia Adams, Psychology, Pitt Community College
  • Janis Antonek, Spanish, Middle College, UNCG
  • Lisa Brewer, Instructional Coach, Silverdale Elementary, Onslow County Schools
  • Meghan Davis, Biotechnology, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
  • Jack Hudson, English, Providence Day
  • Jacey MacDonald, ELA, Daniels Magnet Middle School, Wake County Public Schools
  • Stephanie Morgan, Math, Pisgah High School, Haywood County Schools
  • Heather Oswald, Science, The Cannon School
  • Annie Polashock, Math and Social Studies, Heritage Middle School, Wake County Public Schools
  • Lee Ann Smith, Media Specialist, Glen Arden Elementary, Buncombe County Schools
  • Lori Townsend, Science, Charlotte Country Day
  • Holly Grant Whistler. Developmental English and College Success, Nash Community College

The OVERBook Project on the Environment and Sustainability is an interdisciplinary professional learning opportunity which aims to deepen educators’ understanding of contemporary global environmental and sustainability issues and resources for teaching about these issues. The program culminates in the creation of study guides with educator resources created by World View Fellows in connection with photos featured in the Population Institute’s OVERBook. We look forward to meeting the 12 Fellows in Chapel Hill in July for the opening workshop.

World View received numerous applications, making the decision a very difficult one. We appreciate the interest, efforts and commitment to global education of all the applicants and encourage educators from World View partner institutions to apply for the 2019 World View Fellows program, to be announced during the 2018-2019 academic year.